top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBrenda Johnson

Change Your Focus

Updated: Aug 5, 2021

Monday - April 6th, 2020


“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.”

‭‭Galatians‬ ‭6:9‬ ‭NIV‬‬. https://www.bible.com/111/gal.6.9.niv


Good Monday morning! I hope everyone had a wonderful Sunday and took some time to feel inspired.


This morning some of you had to physically go to work while others are learning a new normal by working from home. I am wondering if the Monday morning blahs mean the same thing it did just a few weeks ago in this covid-19 world we are living in. I am concerned many maybe experiencing Monday blah’s everyday of the week. So how do you break the blah!


Well you could all retire, like me. I would highly recommend it but I also realize it’s not feasible for everyone to “retire” today. So instead change your mind about Mondays or any day for that matter.


The truth is you can set the tone for your day by changing your, ok wait for it... this is the big reveal.... build it bigger.... are you ready... ok here it is.. “CHANGE YOUR FOCUS!”


Awe,,, you thought it would be bigger or some great mystery, no I’m pretty sure you’ve heard it all before so why are you sitting here wondering how to change your LIFE when you already have the answer? Your belief isn’t there, you don’t have the motivation to be a better version of yourself, you are playing the victim card?


So back it up sister? Now you need to find What motivates YOU! And this opens a whole world of possibilities. Most people are motivated by financial gain, some by social acceptance, others are motivated by achievement awards, in other words put another medal around their neck and they are good to run for miles and jump high buildings in a single bound. But I am not thinking about others here I am thinking about what motivates ME and you should be doing the same thing.


I am not sure this is something you can figure out in a moment or maybe you can if you’ve thought about it before. But I would think many haven’t really FOCUSED on what motivates them. We grow up doing the do like our parents before us not realizing we really need our own motivation rather than just doing what they did and what their parents did before them because more than likely those parents before them knew what their motivation was but somewhere through the years the reasons’ why we do what we do got muddled and we just kept doing what we were doing without a true reason for doing it. (Whatever you do don’t read that last sentence again or you’ll be concerned I don’t know what I’m doing.)


Back to the Motivation! You need to figure this out or you will never be truly satisfied in your life because you will never achieve whatever it is that you are trying to obtain because you haven’t defined it. That was a huge mouthful so let me tell you a story that may or may not help. It helped me.


Many of you know my Dad was my hero. He worked hard his entire life for his family! I truly believe he did it for me and yet I don’t think he realized why he worked so hard his whole life until it got to the end of his life. I believed he thought it was a good thing to work hard everyday. I believed he felt he was doing the right thing to work hard everyday. In fact I don’t think he even thought about it much he just did it, EVERYDAY!


About a year and a half before he passed away I was sitting with him while he had his breakfast of Chocolate milk and Chocolate Cheerios and I was talking as I do, maybe you’ve noticed. Anyway I asked him “Dad, If you could do anything or accomplish anything what would it be?” He took a while and I could tell he was thinking. I thought he might say something like he would like to catch the biggest flounder ever caught. He really loved catching flounder. Or I thought he may say he’d like to fight a big fire, he truly loved being a firefighter. Or I even considered he may say he’d like to ride the quad down in Rocky Point with his grandkids. Instead he surprised me and went really deep. His response was this. “I’d like to work hard and buy a place where my kids could grow up and raise their families to all love Jesus”.


Drop the mic! I couldn’t believe my ears. I said though crying tears “Dad, you did it! You have accomplished all that!” Then he looked sideways at me with his little grin, knowing he had just opened an amazing world to me. His entire life had been on laser focus. He knew what he was working for and he knew what it would take to accomplish that goal! He had defined his motivation, his belief and had set his focus on what had to be done and then he consistently did the do! What a HERO! What an example for me!


I hope you can find your motivation so you can set your focus on what needs to be done to accomplish your life dreams. Take some time and write down exactly what that dream is, and exactly what it will take to make it happen. And then set yourself on a path to follow that will focus on finding your dreams fulfilled.


Hopefully you find your Monday Motivation today!



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page